Home Colombo Declaration

Colombo Declaration

[tdc_zone type=”tdc_content”][vc_row][vc_column][vc_empty_space height=”52px”][vc_empty_space][td_block_text_with_title]

A Brief on the Colombo Declaration

The Colombo Declaration on Media Freedom and Social Responsibility was signed by The Editor’s Guild of Sri Lanka (TEGOSL) in April 1998 together with the Newspaper Society of Sri Lanka and the Free Media Movement after an international symposium held at the BMICH.

As most members are aware, the symposium was held in the backdrop of a campaign launched by TEGOSL and other fraternal media organizations to have the laws of criminal defamation repealed after five TEGOSL members had been indicted under the Penal Code for criminal defamation.

Among the international organizations that supported the Colombo Declaration were the World Association of Newspapers (WAN), the International Press Institute (IPI), the Commonwealth Press Union (CPU), Article 19, and the Media Institute of Southern Africa (MISA).

The Sri Lanka Working Journalists Association (SLWJA) joined in on the deliberations but was unable to sign the Declaration. In December 2007, the SLWJA signed the Colombo Declaration and became partners in an exercise that launched the Sri Lanka Press Institute, the Sri Lanka College of Journalism and the Press Complaints Commission of Sri Lanka.

Colombo Declaration

1998 -Tamil

1998 -Sinhala


1win mexico