The premiere annual ‘Awards Night’ of the Journalism Awards for Excellence Programme organized by The Editors’ Guild of Sri Lanka (TEGOSL) and the Sri Lanka Press Institute (SLPI) will be held for the 17th consecutive year on Tuesday, August 02, 2016, in the Grand Ballroom of Mount Lavinia Hotel.

Described as the Sri Lankan equivalent of the Pulitzer, the Excellence in Journalism Awards is the most prestigious annual programme for journalists, which recognizes outstanding work and rewards those deserving merit.

The Journalism Awards Program was started in 1999 by The Editors’ Guild of Sri Lanka following the “Colombo Declaration on Media Freedom and Social Responsibility.” In 2004, Sri Lanka

Press Institute was inaugurated and from then on the Awards Night was jointly organized by TEGOSL and the SLPI. The goal of the Awards Ceremony has been to shape the future of journalism in the country by improving the skills needed for excellence, recognizing and rewarding achievements and high standards as well as focusing on professional ethics.

Journalism Awards for Excellence 2020 (21st Edition) Rules and Regulations

Download application forms

Previous Journalism Awards