Home SLPI News Sri Lanka Press Institute Annual General Meeting 2021

Sri Lanka Press Institute Annual General Meeting 2021

Sri Lanka Press Institute Annual General Meeting 2021




The Sri Lanka Press Institute (SLPI) held its 18th Annual General Meeting last Wednesday (10th) virtually on the Zoom web conferencing platform. The meeting was attended by representatives of its constituent partners, the Newspaper Society of Sri Lanka (NSSL), The Editors’ Guild of Sri Lanka (TEGOSL), the Free Media Movement (FMM), the Sri Lanka Working Journalists Association (SLWJA).



During the year, SLPI has been able to engage with journalists on several platforms with operational health safety in pandemic reportage and professional security-related capacity building programmes ensuring their commitment to freedom of expression and free media. The Institute launched a fact-checking unit as a service along with a research team to complement the ongoing work. Understanding the current trends and transition of the print industry to new digital media, an online platform www.Journo.lk was introduced to function as a hub for professional and ethical journalism. The  SLPI continues their programme on Right to Information (RTI) where both the general public and the media industry is encouraged in influencing and promoting transparency and accountability.



Several programme and project initiatives complementing the SLPI’s mandate to nurture an informed public and professionalise journalism have been conducted in collaboration with fraternal organisations locally and foreign agencies such as UNESCO, the Norwegian Union of Journalists (NUJ), Deutsche Gesellschaft für Internationale Zusammenarbeit (GiZ), International Organization for Migration (IOM), the South Asia Collective (SAC) and the diplomatic mssions of USA and Canada. Internetinių puslapių ir elektroninių parduotuvių kūrimas, greitieji kreditai, paskolos internetu, seo paslaugos konkurencinga kaina seopaslaugos.com


The AGM was presided over by Acting Chairman Mr. Sinha Ratnatunga and the directors re-elected were Mr. Kumar Nadesan (Chairman) of the Newspaper Society, Mr. Sinha Ratnatunga (Deputy Chairman), Mr. Manik de Silva and Mr. Mohanlal Piyadasa of The Editors’ Guild of Sri Lanka, Ms. Seetha Ranjanee, Mr. Udaya Kalupathirana and Mr. Thaha Muzammil of the Free Media Movement, Mr. Lasantha Ruhunage and Mr. Duminda Sampath of the Sri Lanka Working Journalists Association.


Messrs. Ernest and Young Sri Lanka Limited were re-appointed as auditors of the company and F.J. & G de Saram’s Corporate Services (Private) Limited (CSL) were re-appointed as the company secretaries.


The affiliated organisations of the SLPI are the South Asia Free Media Association (SAFMA), Tamil Media Alliance (TMA), Sri Lanka Muslim Media Forum (SLMMF) and Federation of Media Employees’ Trade Union (FMESTU)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

1win mexico